Maarten Seghers makes objects, installations, performances and music. In his production ‘WHAT DO YOU MEAN WHAT DO YOU MEAN AND OTHER PLEASANTRIES’ (2014), he smartly and inimitably exposed art practices with apparent absurdity and with beauty and hilarity ploughed through the inevitability of our woes. This feast of feelings contained a human life full of love and tragedy. For this production he was nominated for the 2015 Prix Jardin d’Europe for choreographers.

In 2006 Maarten Seghers set up OHNO COOPERATION in association with the artist Jan Lauwers and the musician Elke Janssens. Together, they create performances, video works, installations and music. OHNO COOPERATION also invites other artists and musicians to join it, and it presents these joint ventures in series of international exhibitions and concerts. Performances, exhibitions and concerts by OHNO COOPERATION have been seen and heard at BOZAR (Brussels), Festival Temps d’Images (La Ferme du Buisson, Marne-la-Vallée), La Condition Publique (Roubaix), CC Strombeek, Gr!M (Marseille), SPIELART (Munich), AIR ANTWERPEN (Antwerp), Campo (Ghent), Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt) et al. Confrontations with other artists and musicians including Jean-Marc Montera, Eric Sleichim, Nicolas Field, Rombout Willems, Egill Sæbjörnsson, Michael Fliri, Nico Leunen, Fritz Welch, Peeesseye, Pontogor, Idan Hayosh, Rachel Lowther, Jaime Fennelly, Roberta Gigante et al. are crucial to the work of OHNO.

Maarten Seghers has been a member of Needcompany, the international company of artists founded by Jan Lauwers and Grace Ellen Barkey, since 2001. In addition to his unmistakable presence as a performer in the work of both these theatre-makers, his compositions make a substantial contribution to their productions.

As well as taking part as a performer, he has written music for Jan Lauwers’ productions ‘Images of Affection’ (2002), ‘Isabella’s room’ (2004), ‘The Lobster Shop’ (2006), ‘The Deer House’ (2008), ‘Marketplace 76’ (2014) and ‘The Blind Poet’ (2015), ‘Needlapb’ and ‘The House of Our Fathers’, Grace Ellen Barkey’s ‘(AND)’ (2002), ‘Chunking’ (2005), ‘The Porcelain Project’ (2007), ‘This door is too small’ (for a bear) (2015), ‘Odd? But Tue!’ (2013) and ‘Just for…’, ‘All Tomorrow’s Parties’ and ‘The time between two mistakes’.

He also composed music for ‘No Comment’ (2003), ‘The Art of Entertainment’ (2011) by Jan Lauwers and ‘The Unauthorized Portrait’ (2003) – a film about Jan Lauwers by Nico Leunen.

Maarten Seghers receives full artistic and production support from Needcompany. Some of his visual work is in the permanent collection of FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais.


Angel Butcher (2001)
So, man, (2007)
Uninteresting Result (2011)
What do you mean And other pleasantries (2014)
O (2016)

So, man, ...

The Tragedy Of The Applause
The OHNO Cooperation Conversation

Images of Affection (2002)
(AND) (2002)
No Comment (2003)
The Unauthorized Portrait (2003)
Isabella's Room (2004)
Needlapb (2002-2015)
Chunking (2005)
The Lobster Shop (2006)
The Porcelain Project (2007)
Just for… (2006-2014)
Deconstruction (2007)
The House of Our Fathers (2011-2016)
The Deer House (2008)
The art of entertainment (2011)
Marketplace 76 (2012)
Odd? But True! (2013)
The blind poet (2015)

Isabella's Remix (2004)
Sad Face|Happy Face (2008)
Tracks To The World Of Grace Ellen Barkey (2008)
Marketplace 76 (2012)